Two Tip Tuesday

It is still Tuesday somewhere in the U.S.!  Yep, late again on a travel day.  And with that comes…Change of plans!  And I gave myself permission to do just that.  Remember the orange and rust quilt?  Well, I’m seam ripping!  I’m totally good with my decision and I’m well on my way to making the original choice for these fabrics.

image

So, with seam ripping comes some tips!  Below is my favorite ripper.  It folds out to expose the ripper and nicely folds back to protect the tip and protects me from getting poked!

#1- Find a seam ripper that fits your hand!

When ripping…you don’t actually “rip”.  Carefully slide the point of the seam ripper under the stitch and slide the ripper so the blade (in the curve) cuts the thread.  Shown below.

image

#2 – I like to cut every third or fourth stitch all the way along the seam.  Then pull the thread on the other side of the seam and all those stitches pop loose!

And with a long day of traveling, I’m home again!!

in quilting,

Debbie

This entry was posted in Tips, Tools, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Tip Tuesday

  1. Susan says:

    Sometimes change is good thing! Thanks for the name of the seam ripper!

Leave a Reply

